Kevin Humphries


11 April 2018

Member for Barwon Kevin Humphries congratulates Jillian Kilby and Shanna Whan for their dedication and hard work in our Barwon communities. 

Jillian Kilby has been named 2018 NSW Women of the Year and Shanna Whan a finalist at the AgriFutures Australia 2018 NSW-ACT Rural Women’s Awards.

Mr Humphries said Jillian and Shanna’s commitment to bringing positive change to Barwon communities made them outstanding candidates. 

“Jillian’s vision of helping regional start-ups become commercial successes by increasing the capability, capacity and confidence of business owners – particularly women living in rural, regional and remote Australia – was inspiring. 

Originally from Coonamble, Jillian founded The Infrastructure Collaborative, and has served the infrastructure needs of 50 Local Governments in Regional NSW since 2009 when it was established from a 50,000 acre property west of Walgett.

“Shanna’s passion is to bring an honest conversation about modern day addiction out into the open to help to reduce the numbers of high-risk, high-functioning community members slipping through the cracks in rural and remote Australia.

Minister for Women Tanya Davies said the NSW Women of the Year Local Awards celebrate the contributions and successes of women who are often quiet achievers. 

“The Local Awards are designed to acknowledge women who are making a significant impact in the places where we live and work, and in the lives of people around them. Local award winners exemplify the spirit of their communities,” Mrs Davies said. 

Ms Kilby will now go on to compete for the National AgriFutures Australian Rural Women’s Award later this year at Parliament House, Canberra.

The NSW Women of the Year Awards program recognises remarkable women across the state who has achieved inspiring things in their careers, in business or in their communities.

Narrabri Electorate Office

Phone: (02) 6792 1422
Facsimile: (02) 6792 1466

Postal Address
60 Maitland Street
PO Box 345
Narrabri  NSW 2390


Cobar Electorate Office

Phone: (02) 6836 3722
Facsimile: (02) 6836 3811

Postal Address
11 Barton Street
PO Box 99
Cobar NSW 2835

Broken Hill Electorate Office

Phone: (08) 8087 3315
Facsimile: (08) 8087 1796

Postal Address
1/142 Argent Street
Broken Hill 2880